The story of the rock opera Antigone rising from the depths of the mysterious ancient brings two basic story lines - the theme of generational rebellion and literally the theme of love beyond the grave.

Two brothers, successors to the throne, are killing each other in a fratricidal duel. Creon (Viktor Dyk),  their uncle that had seized power and control of the government, exploits this situation.  In an atmosphere of fear and the starting reign of terror, he is opposed by Antigone (Žántí)    
She defies senseless orders and family tradition,  rejects the role of an obedient female and a wife, resolutely and defiantly defends her right to decide freely for herself and about her actions. As a strong and charismatic personality, she brings to her side Creon's son, Haemon, who falls in love with her and chooses fight and death rather than dishonor and defeat and life without freedom. Of course, neither Creon comes out of the story as the absolute winner. Even though he wins and keeps his power, he is abandoned and alone. His government is collapsing and the empire is crumbling, the spirit of rebellion is stronger than the old traditions.
Characters and situations are timeless for sharing which is the purpose of the work and the reason for its creation and the path to the viewer's understanding and harmony.

Libretto Antigone is divided into three acts. The first act shows the progress of events starting with the fight between Oedipus' sons Eteocles and Polynices for the power in Thebes and ending with Creon's verdict on banning a burial of "a stranger" Polynices. The second one begins with the Antigone's revolt against the above verdict, her decision not to listen to Creon, and disrespect of him in the role of self-appointed ruler. It then ends with the revelation of her crime - Polynices' burial. The third act involves the trial of Antigone, her punishment and its consequences.


  1. Title 1
  2. Title 2
  3. Title 3
  4. Title 4
  5. Title 5
  6. Title 6
  7. Title 7
  8. Title 8
  9. Title 9
  10. Title 10
  11. Title 11
  12. Title 12
  13. Title 13
  14. Title 14
  15. Title 15
  16. Title 16
  17. Title 17
  18. Title 18
  19. Title 19
  20. Title 20
  21. Title 21
  22. Title 22
  23. Title 23
  24. Title 24
  25. Title 25
  26. Title 26
  27. Title 27
  28. Title 28
  29. Title 29
  30. Title 30
Foto: Hana Brožková
  1. Slzy nedojmou (videoklip, 2006)
    Viktor Dyk a Eva Urbanová na koncertní premiéře v Kongresovém centru Praha
  2. Poslední cesta (videoklip, 2009)
    Jan Toužimský, Bára Zemanová
  3. Božská píseň (videoklip, 2010)
    Sestřih představení z RockOpery Praha
  4. Předehra (animace, 2008)
  5. Události v Kultuře (ČT24, 2008)